What do I Need to Know About Child Support in New Jersey?

What do I Need to Know About Child Support in New Jersey?

What do I Need to Know About Child Support in New Jersey?

Divorce matters are often sensitive, especially when children are involved. In New Jersey, after a divorce, both of a child’s parents must financially support them throughout their upbringing. This is done through child support payments that are made from a non-custodial parent to a custodial parent to maintain a standard of living that the child was used to before the divorce. These are payments used solely for matters relating to the welfare of the child. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced New Jersey family law attorney if you need assistance handling these matters.

How is Child Support Determined?

Every family is different from one another. That is why there is no “one size fits all” approach to determining the amount that a parent owes in child support. Each case is treated differently in court. In order to determine an amount, the state uses the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines. This uses a formula that applies to parents who have a combined yearly income between $8,840 and $187,200. The formula calculates the cost of the child’s expenses in conjunction with the family’s income to reach a fair amount for that family.

If a family’s combined yearly income does not line up with the Guidelines, the court will consider various factors to reach a fair settlement for child support. This can include the following:

  • The financial status of each parent
  • Who has physical custody of the child
  • Any income, debt, and assets of each parent
  • Each parent’s earning capacity
  • Each parent’s work history
  • The child’s needs
  • The child’s age/health
  • The child’s education
  • The cost of providing for the child

When Does Child Support Stop?

A parent is required to make child support payments until their child reaches a certain age, otherwise known as the age of emancipation. In the state of New Jersey, a child is generally emancipated at the age of 19 years old. However, this can change depending on the family’s situation. There are cases in which the court may extend support payments. This may be seen if the child has special needs or they go on to receive a higher education. Parents may have to pay for education for some of the following reasons:

  • The amount of money sought
  • The capability of a parent to pay the costs
  • The school and course of study
  • The child’s commitment
  • The child’s finances
  • The accessibility of financial aid
  • The child’s relationship with both parents
  • The financial capacity of the parents

Alternatively, it is also possible for a parent to petition the court to end child support before their child reaches the age of emancipation. However, for this to happen, the parent must prove to the court that the child can provide for him or herself without the assistance of either parent.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

If you are considering a divorce and need an attorney who can effectively represent you through every step you can count on Lazor Rantas, PC. We proudly serve clients throughout New Jersey as they navigate divorce and family law matters. To discuss your case with an experienced legal team, contact Lazor Rantas, PC today.

Get in touch | we're here to help

Call NowEmail UsChat With Us

Read Our Latest Blog Posts